Qualification for the race for the Gran Premio de la Ciudad de México.

November 6 2021 , 11:26 pm

Qualification for the race for the Gran Premio de la Ciudad de México. None of current drivers have scored two Pole Position on this track yet. Lewis Hamilton took the first pole in 2016, and Max Verstappen not yet. Once Pole Position was taken by Sebastian Vettel (2017), once by Daniel Riccardo (2018) and once by Charles Leclerc (2019). This year, Valtteri Bottas, from Mercedes, who, like Max, has not yet achieved Pole Position here, will start from first pole.

In Q1, Lance Stroll gave as a lot of feelings. He crashed out his car at beginning of the session. Fernando Alonso, who complained about his car, also didn’t come out of the first part of the classification.

In Q2, we said goodbye to: Esteban Ocon, Antonio Giovinazzi, George Russell, Kimi Räikkönen and Sebastian Vettel without any problems.

In Q3, we were surprised by Mercedes, who squeezed 101% out of the cars – Valtteri Bottas won Pole Position ahead of Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen. As we can see, the favourite of the fans in the stands, was Sergio Perez, who finally took the 4th pole.

Many of drivers have got penalty for replacing engines or transmission: Lando Norris, Yuki Tsunoda, Lance Stroll will start from the back of the grid. George Russell has given a 5 place grid penalty.

Written by
Ala Oliniewicz-Kosatka


  • Sauber F1 boss Kaltenborn Leaves Team